Home

I wrote my self-portrait which mostly talked about my childhood on these long paper strips(2009.10).The idea that they’re like hair excited me most,thinking about the ‘synopsis’ from our heads to the outside world or from the surrounding to our brain.Einstein’s most famous portrait made him a man with his hair pointing at different directions,Isn’t it like an exploded mind?

Hair V.2 was made in 2011.1 roughly one year after V.2.Exept for the basic format,I rewrote the words in V.1 in computer’s code which can be decoding only by machine(a wonderful wish,since the code is to complex for me now I just code them ramdomly..ORZ).Instead of wasted plastic bottle and arbitrarily cuted paper,I used a top-case(for Mac) and well-arranged equal-length strips.To represent not the differences in time,but the difference in a human’s own space,These 2(not only 2) kinds of me all exist ,separately or connected.In this case I ‘ll show them separately( maybe until I do many of them and form a series.)

I like the idea that I do the ‘portrait’ every year from now on and see how many dimension a person can live in all at the same time.

Installation Description:

Enclosed in a 7×7 m space, display paper stripes of different ages.

Those that are spread all over the floor with handwriting paragraphs are done in the early years as my self portrait. The neat stripes hanging down from the roof are the later versions decoded by computer as 16 digit numbers based on my older and recent self-portrait writings.

Dim light comes from where source-code self-portrait are rooted, gaps in the keyboard, thus comparing to the hand-written version are of better order and pattern.

Artist Statement:

Self-observation along with self-expression are always my pal on the way of seeking for the true self. The installation Hair-Self portrait is my self portrait which may provide a view of the self developing dialogues take place in everyone’s life, in this way discuss the meaning of self portrait by present a live one.

Paper Stripes are of all the time my writing favorites. When working with it, I am reminded of the early years. So they are like the thread triggers different time layers and space.

I think of my installation can be at the same time totally a personal space or a greeting and embrace to strangers,  an improvisational site and also a ready-made sculpture of  frozen time. What I enjoy most is that I myself in the work is the audience, performer, guest and master. That’s what my self-portrait defined me and what I developed out of the portrait.

Those that are spread all over the floor with handwriting paragraphs are done years ago. The neat stripes hanging down from the roof are the later versions decoded by computer as 16 digit numbers based on my older and recent self-portrait writings. Though stripes on the ground are twisted and tangled, their roots are following well kept order, just in case the world turned upside down.

Leave a Reply

